Bishop appoints 2 to Cabinet


The Rev. Henderson Rasberry and the Rev. Geoffrey Joyner have been appointed district superintendents in the Mississippi Conference by Bishop Hope Morgan Ward.

The appointments were announced March 8 and are effective July 1. Joyner will serve the Tupelo District, while Rasberry has been assigned to the West Jackson District.

“I give thanks for the experience, vision, integrity and missional energy Geoffrey and Henderson bring to the work of the Cabinet,” Ward said.

Rasberry currently serves Madison United Methodist Church, while Joyner serves Crawford Street UMC in Vicksburg.

Rasberry has served on the Cabinet before, serving as East Jackson District superintendent 1996-2001. He has been at Madison UMC since that time. He previously served the Barlow Charge, Caswell Springs, Pascagoula Eastlawn, Jackson Leavell Woods and Clinton First UMC.

A graduate of Iliff School of Theology in Denver, Joyner has served at Crawford Street since 2000. Previous appointments include the Sandersville-Glade Charge, West Laurel-Gitano Charge, Purvis-Talowah and Jackson Broadmeadow.

“The Cabinet continues to focus our work on making disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world as we reach out together to more people, more younger people and more diverse people,” Ward said. “In addition, we keep before us at all times these missional priorities: Development of spiritual leadership, new places for new people, engaging ministry with the poor and global health and wellness.”

The Rev. Carl Grubbs and the Rev. Willis Britt, current superintendents of theTupelo and West Jackson districts, respectively, have requested the retired relationship in the Annual Conference at the end of this conference year.