SEJ College of Bishops to visit Mississippi


Nearly 100 United Methodist leaders and their spouses will be in Mississippi this week when three Southeastern Jurisdiction groups meet.

The College of Bishops, Committee on the Episcopacy and jurisdiction lay leaders were scheduled to meet Jan. 8-11.

The College of Bishops includes all bishops of the Southeastern Jurisdiction. The 13 active bishops and some retired bishops and their spouses are scheduled to attend. Bishop Hope Morgan Ward of the Mississippi Area is the president of the college. This is the first meeting of the College of Bishops in Mississippi in at least 16 years.

The Committee on Episcopacy has one clergy and one lay member from each conference in the jurisdiction. The Mississippi Conference’s representatives are Turner Arant of Sunflower and the Rev. Joe May of Jackson. Each conference’s lay leaders will also gather. Tim Crisler of Crystal Springs is the Mississippi Conference lay leader.

The bishops are scheduled to meet Jan. 8-10. The Committee on the Episcopacy meets Jan. 9-10, while the lay leaders are to meet Jan. 9-11. The meetings are scheduled for the Hilton Hotel on County Line Road in Jackson.

The College of Bishops meets three or four times a year; each January, at each of the two Council of Bishops meetings each year and one other gathering. The Council of Bishops includes all United Methodist bishops worldwide.

A catfish dinner for the participants is scheduled for Friday night at Anderson United Methodist Church. The dinner is sponsored by the Catfish Institute.