Ward emphasizes unity, peace at UMW district meeting


Bishop Hope Morgan Ward stressed the need for unity and peace when she spoke Oct. 14 at the annual meeting of the Brookhaven District United Methodist Women at the Crystal Springs United Methodist Church.

The Rev. John Branning and UMW President Susannah Jones of Crystal Springs UMC welcomed members and guests. The theme of the meeting was "Building For Peace-Piece By Piece."

District President Jean Ricks of Wesson gave the President’s Report and Franklin recognized outgoing officers.

The installation of district officers for 2007 was conducted by District Superintendent the Rev. Phillip Heidelberg. They are Jean Ricks, president; Juanita Franklin, vice president; Lilie Magee, secretary; Nelda Hodges, treasurer; Linda Phillips, secretary of program resources, and Jennifer Johnson, communications coordinator.

Ricks recognized new UMW units in the district: Barlow Charge UMW and Gloster-Woodland UMW.

Mary Ann Graham, a member of the Crystal Springs UMW, was remembered in the candle burning ceremony, conducted by Jane Roberts, education and interpretation chair.

Plans call for the 2007 meeting to be held at Monticello UMC. Three circles from Crystal Springs UMC hosted a luncheon in the fellowship hall which was followed by an officers training session.