Decatur UMC honors Eagle Scouts with special service in February


Forty Eagle Scouts from Boy Scout Troop 46 were honored Feb. 12 on National Boy Scout Sunday at Decatur United Methodist Church.

Members of Troop 46 posted the colors. The Chancel Choir led the congregation in patriotic songs. Jarod Armstrong sang America the Beautiful.

Mike McGrevey recognized special guests and presented the troop history.  Scoutmasters for Troop No. 46 have included Kermit Jackson (deceased), Melburn Anderson (deceased), Reginald Thames, I. D. Herrington, Willard Clay (deceased), Shelby Harris (deceased), Bernard Rigdon, John Walker, Olin Thomas and Butch Smith.

Those who have worked on the district Executive Council include John McWhorter, Bill Thames and Bill Bailey. Those who have received the Silver Beaver Award are Selby Alsworth, Mike McGrevey, Reginald Thames, Olin Thomas, Arno Vincent and John Walker.

Joe Blount, a Troop 46 Eagle Scout and and presently the Mississippi tax commissioner, was the guest speaker. He presented memories of his scouting experiences. He discussed how a scout must be dedicated and disciplined to earn the rank of Eagle Scout. Blount was one of the first Eagle Scouts under Scoutmaster Reginald Thames.

Flowers in church were given by Mr. and Mrs. Reginald Thames in memory of Melburn Anderson. Anderson was Thames’ Scoutmaster in the 1930s.