Evangelism Committee seeks nominations for Denman Awards


The Denman Evangelism Awards help draw attention to evangelism by honoring one clergyperson and one layperson in each annual conference who are reaching others effectively for Christ. The awards are presented annually at Annual Conference sessions.

Past Mississippi honorees include:

Walter H. Rose, 2005

Rev. Jesse Moore, 2004

Mary Holt, 2004

Rev. Tim Green, 2003

Yvonne Owen, 2003

Rev. John Case, 2002

Dorothy Wittig, 2002

The Rev. John Sudduth, conference chair of Evangelism, seeks nominations for the 2006 Denman Awards. Nominations are due April 7. Nomination forms have been updated this year. Please use the clergy form to nominate a clergyperson and the laity form to nominate a layperson. The forms are available at www.mississippi-umc.org.

The awards are named for United Methodist layman Harry Denman who had the gift of making people want to listen whether he was speaking with one person or to a multitude. Love for the Lord and his fellow man was the keynote of his life and was a “fisher of all persons.”