Appointment News

Bishop James E. Swanson Sr. announces the appointment of two new district superintendents, effective July 1, 2017. 

Rev. Lindsey Robinson

Rev. Lindsey Robinson will become district superintendent to the Brookhaven District. For the last nine years, Robinson served as pastor of St. Paul United Methodist Church in Biloxi and Mount Pleasant United Methodist Church in Gulfport.
“I feel honored and humbled by Bishop Swanson’s invitation to serve as a member of his cabinet. I look forward with excitement and anticipation to serving with the clergy and laity of the Brookhaven District in making disciples for the transformation of the world. I have always approached ministry from a perspective of servanthood and discernment of God's vision for our time and context. I am grateful for the prayers and warm expressions of welcome,” said Robinson.
He previously served as associate director of connectional ministries for the Mississippi Conference. He was the pastor of the following churches in Mississippi: Seven Springs UMC in Raymond, Lynch Chapel in Clinton, Haven UMC in Clarksdale, St. Paul UMC in Hattiesburg and St. James UMC in Mt. Olive. Blue Ridge UMC in Laurel, Smith Chapel UMC in Laurel and Mallalieu UMC in Laurel are congregations he served as well.
Robinson’s career includes three years of active duty service in the United States Army. Additionally, he served as a chaplain in the Mississippi Army National Guard.
His bachelor’s degree in elementary education is from the University of Southern Mississippi and his Master of Divinity is from Candler School of Theology at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia.
Robinson has received training as a spiritual director through the Center for Ministry’s Journey Partners program.



Rev. Raigan Miskelly

Rev. Raigan Miskelly will become district superintendent of the New Albany District. For the last five years, Miskelly has served as senior pastor at First United Methodist Church in Columbus.  Her previous appointments include First UMC in Tupelo and Marvin UMC in Florence. She also served as associate chaplain at Millsaps College.
Miskelly, a certified spiritual director, holds a Bachelor of Science in Christian Education with a minor in business from Centenary College in Shreveport, Louisiana. She earned a Master of Divinity from the Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, California. There she was the recipient of the Paul Yinger Outstanding Preaching Award. She is a certified John Maxwell speaker, teacher and coach. Currently, she is completing a Doctorate of Ministry in leadership from Duke University.
Miskelly has chaired the Faith Community Formation Team for the past two years and has been a part of the Vital Congregations Committee for three years. She serves on the Starkville District Committee on Ministry and has served as a leader in the Residents in Ministry (RIM) program for eight years. 
“I am humbled and honored to be a part of the Methodist Movement here in Mississippi. I look forward to witnessing the many ways God will move throughout the Mississippi Conference. It is a privilege to serve along the other chief missional strategists under the leadership of our senior servant, Bishop James Swanson,” she said. 
Miskelly is married to Rev. Rocky Miskelly. They have four children Walker, 24; Wesley, 23; Wright,13 and Maguire, 11.

Bishop James E. Swanson Sr. of the Mississippi Area and the cabinet announce the following fixed appointments:

Brookhaven District
Brookhaven First—Lynn Mote
Natchez: Jefferson Street—Bill Barksdale
East Jackson District
D'Lo and Bethany—Joe Hanna
Harrisville—Jon Altman
Pelahatchie: First and Gulde—Beth Feisel
Greenwood District
Leland and Greenville: Grace—Tony Proctor
Winona Moore Memorial—John Kramer
Hattiesburg District
Asbury and Hattiesburg: Glendale—Jonathan Crabtree, Kristina Crabtree
Parkway Heights—Bruce Case 

Meridian District 
There are no appointments to be announced at this time.
New Albany District
There are no appointments to be announced at this time.
Seashore District
Gulfport: St. Mark - Rapheal Johnson 
Mississippi City and Jefferson Davis Community College Wesley Foundation - Megan Becnel
Midway - Ron Hill
Safe Harbor and district staff - Robbie Murden
Senatobia District
Clarksdale First and Clarksdale: St. Paul’s – Neville Vanderburg
Starkville District
Eupora First – Kyle Ivy
Tupelo District
Tupelo First (associate) – David Shumaker
West Jackson District
Broadmeadow - Lance Presley
Clinton First (associate) - Josh Gray
Crawford Street - Tom Atkins
Galloway Memorial (senior) - Cary Stockett
Yazoo City First (senior) - Lauren Porter

The cabinet is continuing the appointive process and other appointments will be announced at a later date. Continue to pray for transitioning and returning pastors, as well as the ministries of the Mississippi Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church