We seek to recognize churches, groups and individuals in the Mississippi United Methodist Conference that are redefining what Living Out the POWER of We means. Please submit nominations for those who shine in racial reconciliation (Emma K Elzy Award), evangelism (Harry Denman Award) or Methodist history (Tobias Gibson Award).

Committee on Religion and Race Nomination Guidelines for the Emma K. Elzy Award


The Elzy Award encourages reconciliation by honoring an individual, group or institution that has shown outstanding achievement in race relations in the state of Mississippi. The Award is presented at the annual session of the Mississippi Annual Conference.

Any United Methodist in the Mississippi Conference may submit a nomination for the award named in Emma K. Elzy’s honor. Nominees must have shown outstanding achievements in race relations through the building of interracial relationships, the establishment or operation of a program emphasizing race relations, work beyond the “call of duty” or any other significant activity that promotes reconciliation. Although United Methodists may receive preference, the selection process does not exclude persons or agencies from other denominations or faith traditions. Neither members of Conference Commission on Religion and Race nor directly related conference staff are eligible for the award.


This award is given in honor of Emma K. Elzy, an outstanding laywoman.

A descendant of slaves, Emma Kimp Elzy was born on May 23, 1886. She married Charlie Elzy in Pontotoc in 1907. They had four children: Ruby, Amanda Belle, Robert Isaac and Beatrice Wayne.

Emma Elzy was a woman of great faith and built her life’s foundation on the teaching of The Methodist Church. She was a woman unafraid of hard work. In the mornings she taught five grades at the Pontotoc Colored School until noon and then worked in the cotton fields until sunset. While her husband and children slept at night, she did the laundry for several white families in the community. She was a woman of prayer, when her husband left her and the four children; she relied even more on her faith in God and the church.

Emma moved to Corinth to teach after she lost her job in Pontotoc. It was there that she joined Mt. Moriah Methodist Church. She would remain in Corinth nearly all the rest of her life. Emma died in 1985 at age 98, just shy of her 99th birthday. She had been a member of the Methodist Church for about 70 years and attended Methodist Conferences for 50 years.

Emma K. Elzy went beyond the norm to bring unity and inclusiveness to the body of Christ. She gave liberally of her time, talent, money and ingenuity to promote better race relations, human relations, church relations and family relations.

2016 recognition was award to Rev. Bernard Crump posthumously.


Nomination may be submitted throughout the year beginning in July until the cut-off date established for annual conference. The current cut-off date is May 1, 2017.  Please be thorough and provide details pertinent to our understanding your nominee and their ministry.

Please fill out and print the nomination form and submit your materials for nomination to:

Mississippi Conference CORR Emma K Elzy Award Nomination

320 Briarwood Ave.

Jackson, MS 39206 

Nominations for the Harry Denman Evangelism Award Requested

The Mississippi Annual Conference is now accepting nominations for The Harry Denman Evangelism Award which will be presented during the 2017 Session of the Mississippi Annual Conference.

Each year the Harry Denman Evangelism Award, named for the late Dr. Harry Denman, honors United Methodist clergy, youth and lay persons who have made a difference in the lives of people, the church and the community — exhibiting outstanding efforts in Wesleyan evangelism by faithfully carrying out the mission of “making disciples of Jesus Christ.”

This award, named for the late Dr. Harry Denman whom Dr. Billy Graham called “my mentor in evangelism,” is made possible by The Foundation for Evangelism, which was founded by Dr. Denman in 1949.

Nominated by individuals, churches and districts, recipients of the Harry Denman Evangelism Award have a passion for helping others experience God’s transforming love. Recent honorees have been involved in ministries ranging from food pantries to suicide prevention, disaster cleanup to campus outreach and Bible studies to overseas missions. Neither the size of the local church with which the person is affiliated, the age or gender of the person nor the length of service should limit one’s eligibility.

Recipients of the 2016 Harry Denman Evangelism Award were Rev. Paul Jeffrey Lawrence (clergy award); Cristyn Holder (lay award) and Mary Elizabeth Hilliard (youth award).

The deadline to submit nominations is Wednesday, May 1, 2017.

To nominate someone, download and complete the nomination application below:

Clergy Nomination Form

Lay Nomination Form

Youth Nomination Form


Send completed form to:

Mississippi Annual Conference

Attn.: Harry Denman Nominations

320-C Briarwood Drive

Jackson, MS  39206


Nominations Requested for 2017 Tobias Gibson Award

Nominations are now being solicited by the Commission on Archives and History for its annual Tobias Gibson Award.  Nominees should have made significant contributions to the preservation of the history of Methodism in the Mississippi Conference, ideally within the last year. The award nominee must be a living person and able to be present at the 2017 Session of the Mississippi Annual Conference to receive the award. Nominations are due by Wednesday, May 1, 2017. They are to be emailed to commission chairperson, Rev. Rob Webb at For more information on submitting nominees call Debra McIntosh, archivist at J.B. Cain Archives at 601.974.1077.


320 Briarwood Drive
Jackson, MS 39206
or use our contact form
Sign up now
The Mississippi Annual Conference—empowered by love, generosity, justice and apprenticeship—forms spiritual leaders, faith communities and connections so more disciples of Jesus Christ transform the world.